Enchantment

Christmas Eve is one of my favorite days of the year, and not just because it is my birthday.  There is something special about the anticipation of Christmas.  I remember being a child and the real anticipation started about 3 in the afternoon.  My sister and I would start getting ready for the children’s mass, drying and curling of the hair.  Putting on our brand new dresses our mom had made us.  I love Christmas music, so I really looked forward to Christmas mass (yes, we were those bad Catholics who went to Christmas Eve mass instead of Christmas Day).  After mass, my mom would start all the fun appetizers and buffet.  Swedish meatballs, shrimp cocktail, chips and dip, tamales, the works!  My aunts and cousins would all come over and we would celebrate.  Once they all left, my sister and I would lay out the cookies and milk and stare at the Christmas tree until our parents made us go to bed.  There is something magical about that anticipation.  One of my favorite memories is staring at the Christmas tree with my sister with Christmas songs playing in the background.  Here is “Enchantment”, a beautiful ornament on the tree with the dancing lights!

This entry was posted in Picture the Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

