Let’s Make Some Dough

Well, since I am not entirely sure I am going to be able to upload my photos while in Long Beach, I want to try and continue my streak of a post a day in 2011.  I thought I would share some of my photos from  my most recent cooking experiment. One of my goals this year was to eliminate as many processed foods as possible.  To do this, I am learning to make things from scratch.  I have always had this fascination with doing things the way our grandparents did.  I don’t know about you, but I have always admired everything my grandmothers were able to do, all while looking fabulous on a budget.  I have fond memories sitting at my grandma’s kitchen table while she did her own roller set and had fresh bread in the oven.  So my experiment the other day was to bake my own whole wheat bread.  Now, let me preface this by saying I know I broke the cardinal rule of baking. Don’t mess with the formula.  Baking is chemistry and if you mess with the recipe, it won’t turn out.

I used this recipe from King Arthur Flour’s website for 100% Whole Wheat Bread. I couldn’t find dried milk so I substituted evaporated milk and cut down some of the water that the recipe called for. Well, my dough still ended up a bit to sticky.  I wasn’t going to mess with the recipe any more than I already had.                                                    I found that it didn’t even take an hour for the first or second rising of the dough.  It cooked pretty quickly too.  Although I will have to figure out how to get my bread out without destroying the loaf the next time I bake!                             

This entry was posted in Cooking Fun and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

