Resolutions Come Crashing Down

As you may have noticed, I have been silent as of late.  I had such great expectations for 2011 and what I would accomplish and already, 5 weeks into the year, I have let certain resolutions fall by the wayside. My Project 365 may have been a bit too ambitious for me.  Not that this is an excuse, but I am taking 17 units at school this semester while attempting to get my photography business off the ground.  That, plus my lovely little girl Lola is pregnant with 4 puppies! That’s right, we are expecting in the next couple of weeks.  This has me running around crazy, all I do is feed and walk her.  Who knew dogs would eat sooooo much while pregnant?

Not all of my resolutions have failed as miserably as the Project 365.  I wanted to run more, and I have been doing a pretty decent job of it. In fact, I am running my very first half marathon this year. The other resolution I have been diligently following is to get my business up and running in 2011.  I am so lucky that I have a husband that allows me to follow my bliss, to work only part time while going to school and trying to see if this will work for me.  Out of the two of us, he is the practical business minded one, while I tend to be the more creative free spirited type. This is probably why I have been practicing massage therapy for the past 12 years and am now transitioning into photography. So when I said, I want to to be a photographer back in May of 2011 he said, “Write up a business plan”. Instead, I signed up for a couple of classes in Photoshop and photography. When classes got underway and I was getting the feel for it he said,”Write up a business plan”.  Instead I advertised my services and got a few clients.  Christmas came and I got a fancy new lens and camera bag from my parents.  I was so excited, more toys to play with and create new and wonderful photos! My darling husband again said,”Write up a business plan”.  (Are you noticing a pattern here?) And now, in the past few weeks I have been struggling because I so desperately don’t want to let this be one of those resolutions that are forgotten but wasn’t sure what to do, so I started researching business plans.  Yup, I definitely am one of those “I’ll do it on my time schedule not when you tell me to do it” kinda people. I was getting frustrated.  How do I price myself? What do I need to do? I want to be successful but I know all to well that you can be an amazing photographer, massage therapist, anything and if you don’t have a clear plan, you will fail.

Just as I was about to throw a small pity party for myself, as has been known to happen when I get frustrated, a ray of hope came my way via Facebook.  I was perusing the updates one morning and I saw that Alicia Caine from Served up Fresh had a new book coming out.  Happy Place.  Well, I want a happy place, don’t you? Alicia’s Happy Place is really a guidebook to writing your business plan. Hey, I really need one of those! So I downloaded the ebook last night and have just started reading it.  One chapter in and I am hooked.  Alicia really knows her stuff and I am well on my way to keeping this resolution!  What have I learned so far?

Happy Place = Business Plan = Direction & Goals = Happy Dana = Happy Husband

If you are a photographer, this is a must read.  Go check out her website or her Facebook fan page!

p.s. In case you were wondering….I am working very diligently on the new website, so keep an eye out! It should be ready soon.

p.p.s. Here is a little bit of oh so adorable-ness to get you through your day!

All Star Bulldogs

This entry was posted in Business, Portrait Photography, Project 365 and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

